Price engine
Classified Ads
Forums

All user reviews for the Line 6 POD XT

  • Like
  • Tweet
  • Submit
Average Score:4.4( 4.4/5 based on 45 reviews )
 24 reviews53 %
 14 reviews31 %
 3 reviews7 %
 2 reviews4 %
 1 user review2 %
Mattfig06/22/2012

Mattfig's review"Not horrible...Not awesome..."

Line 6 POD XT
OK, the PODxt is a comprehensive beast....Below is the TON of info about it...Since it models so many amps, cabs, mics, etc. it has a lot of specs...It doesn't such about the Line 6 Edit software but that is the GREATEST PODxt feature known...There are also "model packs" with new effects, amps, and cabs....Downloadable content is always growing and that's kinda cool....This is kidney version and is non rack able,,,,

POD® xt Features
+4dBu / -10dBV 1/4 Inch Outputs
24-bit A/D and D/A Converters
MIDI In, Out/Thru
RJ-45 Foot Controller Connector
USB Connector for Digital I/O
Headphone Output
Guitar Input
Precision Chromatic Tuning
Audio Mute
Bypass
Hands-free Operation (with optional FBV-series foot controllers)
PODxt Amp Models based on*:
Line 6® Clean
Line 6® JTS-45
Line 6® Class A
Line 6® Mood
Line 6® Spinal Puppet
Line 6® Chemical X
Line 6® Insane
Line 6® Piezacoustic 2
Line 6® Agro
Line 6® Lunatic
Line 6® Treadplate
Line 6® Variax® Acoustic
Budda 2001 Twinmaster
Fender® 1953 Deluxe Reverb®
Fender® 1958 Bassman®
Fender® 1961 Champ®
Fender® 1964 Deluxe Reverb®
Fender® 1965 Twin Reverb®
Gretsch® 1960 6156
Hiwatt® 1973 Custom 100
Marshall® 1966 JTM-45
Marshall® 1968 Super Lead
Marshall® 1968 Jump Channel
Marshall® 1968 Variac Plexi
Marshall® 1987 JCM 800
Marshall® 1996 JMP-1
Matchless 1996 Chieftain
Matchless 1993 DC-30
Mesa/Boogie® 2001 Dual Rectifier®
Mesa/Boogie® Mark IIc+
Roland® Jazz Chorus 120
Soldano 1993 SLO-100
Supro 1960's S6616
Vox® 1961 AC-15
Vox® 1967 AC-30TB
Tube Preamp
Marshall® 1974X (18W Reissue)
Marshall® JCM 2000 w/ Germ Pedal
Orange AD30TC
Vox® Fawn Non-Top Boost AC30
Dumble® Clean (from POD® 2.0)
Soldano SP88 (from POD® 2.0)
PODxt Cabinet Models based on*:
6x9 Supro S6616
1x8 1961 Fender® Tweed Champ®
1x10 Gibson®
1x10 Gretsch® 6156
1x12 Line 6®
1x12 1953 Fender® Tweed Deluxe Reverb®
1x12 1964 Fender® Blackface Deluxe Reverb®
1x12 1960 Vox® AC-15
1X15 1962 Supro Thunderbolt
2x2 Fender® Mini Twin Reverb®
2x12 Line 6®
2x12 1965 Fender® Blackface Twin Reverb®
2x12 1995 Matchless Chieftain
2x12 Roland® JC-120
2x12 1967 Vox® AC-30
2X12 1967 Silvertone® Twin Twelve
4x10 Line 6®
4x10 1959 Fender® Bassman®
4x12 Line 6®s
4x12 1967 Marshall® Basketweave with Greenbacks
4x12 1968 Marshall® Basketweave with Greenbacks
4x12 1978 Marshall® with stock 70s
4x12 1996 Marshall® with Vintage 30s
4x12 Mesa/Boogie®
PODxt Microphone Models based on*:
Shure® SM-57 On Axis
Shure® SM-57 Off Axis
Sennheiser® MD-421
Neumann® U-67
PODxt Effect Models based on*:
LA-2A® Compressor
Noise Gate
Fuzz Face
Big Muff Pi®
Tubescreamer®
ProCo Rat
Octavia
CS-1 Comp/Sustainer
Dynacomp
Vetta™ Comp
Auto Swell
Mutron III
Line 6® Sine Chorus
CE-1 Chorus Ensemble
Line 6® Flanger
A/DA Flanger
MXR® Phase 90
Uni-Vibe
Opto Tremolo model from the 1965 Fender® Deluxe Reverb®
Vox® V847 Wah
Custom Vox® V847 Wah
Bias Tremolo model from 1960 Vox® AC-15
Colorsound Wah-Fuzz
Maestro® Boomerang Wah
Leslie® 145
Jen Electronics Cry Baby Super Wah
Vibratone
RMC Real McCoy 1 Wah
Auto-pan
Arbiter® Cry Baby Wah
Boss® DM-2
Sub Octaves Synth Effect
Deluxe Memory Man
Digitech Whammy Pitch Effect
EP-1 Tube Echoplex
Maestro® Bass Brassmaster
Roland® RE-101 Space Echo
Sans Amp Tube Driver
Sweep Echo
Volume (Pre- or Post-Amp Routing options)
Line 6® Digital Delay
Post-EQ
Line 6® Stereo Delay
Vetta Wah
Large Plate Reverb
Ping Pong Delay
Vintage Plate Reverb
Reverse Delay
Slap Plate Reverb
Fender® Deluxe Spring Reverb
Cavernous Reverb
Fender® Twin Spring Reverb
Chamber Reverb
King Spring Reverb
Rich Chamber Reverb
Small Room Reverb
Large Hall Reverb
Tiled Room Reverb
Brite Room Reverb
Dark Hall Reverb
Medium Hall Reverb


UTILIZATION

OK, here's the best part...The Line 6 software is amazing...There is Line 6 Monkey which updates all of your Line 6 gear and software...There is an amazing tone bank online that is super searchable and very very very useful....Here's an example, you are in a late night session and want to keep noise down....You go to the tone bank and type in the name of an artist or song and immediately play that patch....Carlos Santana alone yields a hundred results...Song specific searches are great too- "Back in Black" yields a hundred plus results as well...If you play covers, this might be a tool you can use...

The config is easy as pie...The manual is exquisite! All patches and effects listed on a nice laminated sheet....All setups included with a walk-thru...Tech support is free and useful....

SOUND QUALITY

OK, all my guitars sound a little funny with this thing....It's strong point is versatility while it's weak point is sound...It's digital and, while not bad, it lacks that tube driven oomph....I use it occasionally as an added part but never as the main tracks....It can play a support role well but is not the quarterback...

The models are pretty good but again the sound is so digital it's hard to get a great sound...Having said that the models and such are good...FX are good too...

I do all editing on the software and LOVE that...

I just don't like the thin digital tone....These things have their place and serve as a cheap backup to your main amp at a gig....

The FBV floorboard is useful too....

OVERALL OPINION

I love the editing and ease of use...

The value for what you get is very high...

The sounds are plentiful but not the greatest....

I have owned other digital modelers and this is the most comprehensive...Although they all sound digital....

It's a good product though- especially for beginners....
yoTrakkz09/11/2011

yoTrakkz's review

Line 6 POD XT
The 6POD XT delivers great flexibility and quality. Combined with over 60 classic stombox effects. Also, some hand picked selections from some of the best stomp boxes ever made. The 6 POD XT is no long available to be purchased brand new because they no longer produce it. So if you want to get your hands on this great piece of equipment good luck. Most people wont sell, as I have tried to find one for a long time and finally came across one on eBay and grabbed it up as soon as I could! The Pod XR is by far one of the most flexible and powerful guitar rigs that can fit into a bag and go anywhere that you go. The price that I paid for it was 255. This is the price that still had to be paid even after they stopped making it and used on eBay. It think brand new they where somewhere around 300 or 350.


UTILIZATION

It comes with 128 user and factory presets and many of them are based on most of the popular guitar songs from way back when and all of the hits that we have loved and grew up listening too. You will have immediate access to an unbelievable collection of guitar rigs. Everything is ready to go with the 6PodXT.


SOUND QUALITY

Sound quality is great, awesome effects. Sound great in live situations, never really heard too much of the effects recorded because that wasn’t something we did. Everything was live and it sounded great indoor and outdoor events. Really no matter what style of music you are playing there is a preset you will love and enjoy and fit the song perfect.


OVERALL OPINION

Overall you cant go wrong with this, there are some great effects with the flanger and delay’s along with some chorus. It has all of the presets that you will need to add to your creativity and take your playing to another level. I high recommend this, well I highly recommend anything From the company POD. They have always created top quality products and great customer care and support. Not to mention the prices are pretty low as well, there are a ton of stores that carry POD products, just stop by and give them a try. You will soon be owning one.
iamqman03/17/2011

iamqman's review"Good intro to POD series"

Line 6 POD XT
I am a little biased towards all things Line6 when it comes to effects units....not amps. I have used the POD live, POD rack mount, and the XT unit. There is a common operation that flows throughout the POD series that makes effect tweaking pretty smooth and effortlessly. Once I got the first POD unit which was the live rig I learned how Line 6 tailored their units. However, this unit flows more line there floor boxes such as the DL4 or FM4. The screen isn't going to be like regular PODs where it is mostly digital screen editing. You do have a solid screen but somewhat limited if you have use the POD Pro products. You will have to twist the knobs and look where you control is to know where your at. The new POD X3 conquers this issue and is more digital screen editing. Even though you have midi capability so if using with a Ground Control Pro or some other floor midi switcher you can set up your chain of effects and click your foot control for quick on the fly present changing.

UTILIZATION

The sound is great when it comes to the effects and modulation. The amps simulations are pretty terrible. If you are a natural amp distortion or even used to OD pedals then this is pretty pointless. That is the problem with digital amp simulators they never really match up the real thing. So you will be disappointed if you are looking for something to replace an amp or get a Rectifier sound with this unit going into your Fender Hot Rod.

Easy set up ready....just flip the controls and your up and running. The manuals from Line 6 are always helpful. They do a very god job in there instructions showing you how to get the best sound of the gear you are using it with. One of the best in this factor.

SOUND QUALITY

I was using this with a Strat and a Les Paul into a Marshall JCM2000 into a vintage Marshall 4x12 with blackbacks. The effects such as delays and choruses sound fantastic! This is where I lived with this unit. Did not even bother with the amp sims. The range of delays, flangers, choruses give you most everything you will use in a recording or live situation. If you rely on mostly effects with your guitar sound then I would recommend then stepping up to an X3 or the POD Live units.

OVERALL OPINION

The thing I enjoyed most about this unit was the cool delay and flanger sounds. This is a unit I would use sparingly when I needed to color my natural amp tone with some delays or flanger. I would never use this to get an amp sim or sound that I did not normally have.

The is a great intro to the POD family. They run about $160 in stores and online give or take. For someone who does not use effects that much or someone who would like to get started in the effect tweaking arena who is on a budget I would highly recommend them to this product. You are going to get some great tones to add to your rig for well under what most companies charge for one stomp box.

I think Line 6 is one of the best if not the best companies out there who provide solid effect units for the all-in-one consumer who wants to keep things simple and clean. I would play this unit any day of the week. I don't use too much effects so something like this is perfect for me and it is perfect for home use!
Audiofanzine FR12/30/2010

Audiofanzine FR's review

Line 6 POD XT
Originally written by ediman on Audiofanzine FR.

See below
I like the Midi facility because it allows you to connect any Midi foot controller (in my case, a FCB1010).
I miss a line input to add the signal of an MP3 player, and perhaps also an XLR input.


UTILIZATION

Easy to use as standalone, and even more with GearBox.
Browsing/editing is ok. It's not perfect but decently fast.
The manual is ok...


SOUND QUALITY

I play an ESP M-II (with a singing passive pickup). It's fun, especially when you play along with a mix. Otherwise, it cannot replace a real amp with some good stompboxes.
The effects sound good. Just choose the amp modulations you prefer. The EQs are not always very effective, but the drive parameter is.


OVERALL OPINION

I've been using it for some months.
I use it with my pop/rock cover band. I plug it directly into the PA system. I find it super practical. But you must spend a lot of time to get your own sounds. The other guitar player in my band plays a Variax system and we get good results. But, once again, it cannot replace a real amp. However, if you play covers, you will be able to get almost the same sound as on the original recordings. Nice!

I also use it for rehearsals with my heavy metal band. I connect it to an amp (H&K Attax 80, first series). Once again, you must spend enough time to adjust the sound. The Pod XT allows you to freely shape your tone when it's connected to a real amp. For the time being, this solution is ok but a good amp would be definitely better.

On the other hand, this product is amazing to record with a computer. The results are convincing: you get a good guitar tone when you play with a pair of headphones (and it allows me to record at 3 AM).

Value for money: good if you buy it second hand... But Line6 developed their product range so that you always have to pay for an additional product if you want to extend the application range. For example:

You have a Pod and it works very well as standalone, but you'll have to buy the VST GearBox to edit your sound later during the mix.

You have a Pod and also need a XLR mic input: you'll have to buy the UX2.

Since the UX2 provides two instrument inputs, you'll think: great, I'll buy a VST GearBox
to play with a friend with two GearBox instances! Wrong: you can use only one instrument input because of the Pad function of the second input! It's a rip-off!

If you need two instrument inputs, you'll have to buy the UX8 or the Pod 3 Pro.

I wouldn't hesitate to buy it again, but I hope I can have a cellar in the future to play a real tube amp!
moosers04/08/2010

moosers's review

Line 6 POD XT
The Line 6 POD XT is I believe the newest version of the POD, which is an amplifier modeling and effects unit. It is a digital piece of gear that has 1/4" connections stereo outputs and for a pedal controller, as well as a 1/4" connection for your input and an output for headphones. It also has a MIDI input and output and a USB port. The older version of the POD, the non XT version, doesn't have a USB port, so this is a major upgrade as you can now use it with your computer. It isn't rack mountable in any way, as it has it's own sort of shape.

UTILIZATION

I didn't find that using the Line 6 POD XT was a hard thing to do, but like any in depth piece of gear, it will take a little while to get used to it and to master it. The POD XT has both digital parameters on the LED screen, and hardware ones. The hardware knobs include those for drive, output level, bass, middle, treble, presence, channel volume, and reverb level. It then has two knobs for scrolling on the screen between the different amp models and effects. There are then a sequence of buttons to control the LED screen, which is the portion that really takes a bit of getting used to. It all works simply, but there is a lot that you can do with it. A manual is probably a good thing to have around for beginners.

SOUND QUALITY

While versatile and capable of getting all sorts of different sounds and effects, the Line 6 POD XT wouldn't be the first piece of gear that I would use to get great sounding guitar tracks. While I can certainly understand why people love the convenience of the POD, for me it isn't worth the trade off of sacrificing sound quality when compared to what a real amplifier and effects can bring to the table. Of course I understand that many users of the POD can't necessarily afford a big guitar rig, so in that sort of situation the POD is definitley a handy tool as you won't find too many units with this amount of versatility. However, if you can get your sounds from an amplifier, I'd definitley recommend doing so as they will blow away the sounds on the POD XT.

OVERALL OPINION

While the Line 6 POD XT is undoubtedly improved a great deal from the older POD, I still don't view this as a guitar solution. The sounds just aren't realistic enough - especially the amp modeling portion. The effects are good for what they are, but again it isn't like the real thing. However, the Line 6 POD XT is a great piece of gear to have in addition to a great amp and guitar for extra sounds when needed. I just don't think it is an adequate replacement for a real guitar rig.
MGR/sam potts11/19/2005

MGR/sam potts's review"Line 6 POD XT"

Line 6 POD XT
Iv been playing both acoustic and electric guitars for over 7 years now and i have had played about with several different effects pedels in that time but never in my life have i had sooooo much fun with this little box of genius!

i bought it for £300 and i am hoping to get a FBV4 pedel to go with it which should cost abt £70

absolutely evrything about it is phenominal! the sustain, gates, distortion, and overall variety of effects it offer provides so much potential for any musician it is unbelievable. since i have had it i have explored may more different types of music including going into heavier rock, which really got some amazing riffs and a huge range of chords

there is so much on there i found it hard to believe for the first couple of weeks!! although there were many different setting that i did not even know about until i did the most unholy thing.......yes i read the manual!! and it was actually quite good reading!!

as im in a band i av set up every week at whoevers house were practising at, but i have found, apart from a few scratches, which im very disapointed about, it can take a fair amount of kickin, falling off the top of amps among other regular rocking accidents

if you want more than one effect with in a product this is the only thig for you! i foudn that it is much more than a piece of equiptment, i used to play my guitar on my own, but now i play my guitar and my pod plays bak

This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
MGR/Jeff 09/19/2004

MGR/Jeff 's review"Line 6 POD XT"

Line 6 POD XT
I paid 250.00 for this new at Guitar Center in Tacoma,WA.

This PODxt is an upgrade from the previous Pod ver 2.0. It has all new amp models based on the Line 6 Vetta amplifier. The first thing I did was get online and download an upgrade for the PODxt. It was so simple,and free, now with the upgrade I have more amp models and cab choices. Almost every amp model is a usable tone, and if you feel like tweeking the factory settings(and what gearhead wouldn`t), the combinations of sounds are endless. I know there are those that truly belive that you cannot recreate the warmth of a real tube amp, Buy this POD. I have had the pleasure of putting my PODxt side by side with a 1965 Fender Super Reverb. If you were blindfolded you couln`t tell the difference. Plus with the addition of the Line 6 shortboard, you can switch to any of the different settings, or use volume/Wah with ease. You have complete control. For an additional $99 you can download some of the most sought after amp models, boutique amps, and effects pedals. right from your computer.


The cost of the additional Line 6 shortboard(I belive it to be a must have!) is actually as much as the Podxt.

Nearly indestructable. Solid metal kidney-shaped , and about half the size of your computer keyboard. I owned my original POD ver 2.0 for 2 years without a problem.

This is your best bang for the buck in the amp modeling game. This will plug into any amplifier, will connect direct to mixing board for recording, or will plug straight into the PA for playing live. I have done all three with flawless results. No matter what style of playing, or what type of guitar you plug into it you will be amazed at what it will do right of the box!!

This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
MGR/Jeff 09/19/2004

MGR/Jeff 's review"Line 6 PODxt"

Line 6 POD XT
I paid 300.00 for this new at Guitar Center in Tacoma,WA.

This PODxt is an upgrade from the previous Pod ver 2.0. It has all new amp models based on the Line 6 Vetta amplifier. The first thing I did was get online and download an upgrade for the PODxt. It was so simple,and free, now with the upgrade I have more amp models and cab choices. Almost every amp model is a usable tone, and if you feel like tweeking the factory settings(and what gearhead wouldn`t), the combinations of sounds are endless. I know there are those that truly belive that you cannot recreate the warmth of a real tube amp, Buy this POD. I have had the pleasure of putting my PODxt side by side with a 1965 Fender Super Reverb. If you were blindfolded you couln`t tell the difference. Plus with the addition of the Line 6 shortboard, you can switch to any of the different settings, or use volume/Wah with ease. You have complete control. For an additional $99 you can download some of the most sought after amp models, boutique amps, and effects pedals. right from your computer.


The cost of the additional Line 6 shortboard(I belive it to be a must have!) is actually as much as the Podxt.

Nearly indestructable. Solid metal kidney-shaped , and about half the size of your computer keyboard. I owned my original POD ver 2.0 for 2 years without a problem.

This is your best bang for the buck in the amp modeling game. This will plug into any amplifier, will connect direct to mixing board for recording, or will plug straight into the PA for playing live. I have done all three with flawless results. No matter what style of playing, or what type of guitar you plug into it you will be amazed at what it will do right of the box!!

This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
MGR/Anonymous11/25/2003

MGR/Anonymous's review"Line 6 POD XT"

Line 6 POD XT
I heard so many people rant and rave about this unit that I had to try one. I got it on-line, paying the typical $399 price that is often advertised.

Lots of control over parameters.

I like a fairly hard rock sound but not as hard as Nu-Metal, so for me, I found most of the factory presets unusable unless you like sounding like old recordings. I have a new Les Paul Custom and was looking for a great sounding, "miked" Marshall sound. Most of the presets sounded "right in your face", like you were plugging a stomp box right into the recording console. I was able to go in and configure my own setups and come up with some pretty cool sounds but it took an eternity to get even close to the sound I was after. When it came time to record these customized sounds, I found that the cool sound that I got through the headset jack was not the same as what went to tape.

Seemed well constructed - metal instead of plastic which was nice.

There is a chance that I had a defective unit but in any case, even though it did have some cool features, I didn't think it was $400 worth of cool. I sent mine back for a refund. I guess there is a reason why recording studios still mike Les Pauls played through Marshalls. "Direct in" still has a long way to go.


This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com
MGR/J. Jeff11/12/2003

MGR/J. Jeff's review"Line 6 POD XT"

Line 6 POD XT
I ordered this unit over the internet for about $365.

This unit has many effect features a guitarist might want from compression, reverb, distortion, amp models, speaker models, preset effects etc.

So far, there is not much I don't like about this unit. The only thing that might have been nice would be a mini input jack so I could plug in my MP3 player and play along with a song through headphones while using all of the effects and amp models on the POD XT for my guitar. Then we could more easily compare the sound of the part we are trying to emulate to the sound on the song we were playing along with. Oh yes, and the built in guitar tuner seems to be one of the most accurate I have ever used. It would be great for seting up the intonation of a guitar so that it plays in tune all the way up the fretboard.

Construction quality seems fine. I see no reason, other than if you hit the unit with a solid body guitar while doing a "Who" imitation for this unit to have any problems.

This is the best amp/speaker sound I have found for going direct into a PA system without using a real guitar amp with a microphone on it. I also have a Digitech unit that has amp models that don't sound as realistic to my ears though some of their effects are great and it does have a mini jack input so you can jam along with your CD player or MP3 player over headphones. Overall, the sound quality on the POD XT sounds better to my ears, however, the unit cost me more than the Digitech did.

This review was originally published on http://www.musicgearreview.com