Audio & music gear reviews

  • Review of Alesis iO Dock II
    review

    Review of Alesis iO Dock II - What's Up, Dock?

    06/08/14

    The iO Dock II is the latest version of the Alesis all-in-one audio and MIDI interface for iPad, and includes mic preamps, monitoring facilities and more, making music production super easy. Let’s see what’s new in this version, and take it for a test drive.

  • Electro-Harmonix EHX Tortion Review
    review

    Electro-Harmonix EHX Tortion Review - Tubey or not Tubey, that is the question.

    05/28/14

    Since the days of the original Big Muff Pi, Electro-Harmonix has been building distortion pedals, and one of its latest entries is the EHX Tortion ($179). Way more than just a distortion effect, it also offers a range of overdrive sounds, pleasing clean tones, a boost channel, and you even get amp simulation via its direct out.

  • Tech 21 Hot-Rod Plexi Review
    review

    Tech 21 Hot-Rod Plexi Review - Stack Attack

    05/20/14

    Although most amp modeling is digital, Tech 21 has always created its amp emulations using analog circuitry. The Hot-Rod Plexi pedal ($179) is the latest example. It’s an effects processor that’s designed to be used with an amp, so unlike the SansAmp processors, it has no speaker emulation built in.

  • Capo 3 for Mac Review
    review

    Capo 3 for Mac Review - Shorten the Learning Curve

    05/05/14

    Capo 3 software for Mac ($29.99 via the App Store), from the awesomely named software developer, SuperMegaUltraGroovy, is marketed with the slogan “Reverse Engineering Rock and Roll,” and, indeed, it offers a broad selection of tools that are hugely helpful with learning songs, practicing parts, transposing, transcribing, creating tablature and mo…

  • Mixed In Key Flow Review
    review

    Mixed In Key Flow Review - Prepare Your Sets Easily

    04/19/14

    The creators of key-detection software Mixed In Key and Platinum Notes continue their crusade to offer new tools for DJs. Here's their last baby: Flow. This Mac/PC-compatible application is designed for preparing your transitions and sets in advance, taking into account several criteria, like the key, energy level or the structure of a song.

  • EastWest Steven Wilson's Ghostwriter Review
    review

    EastWest Steven Wilson's Ghostwriter Review - The Ghost of Wilson

    04/15/14

    EastWest's latest production, Ghostwriter, is a virtual instrument that's the result of a collaboration with Steven Wilson, a key figure in the prog and ambient music scenes in recent years. Is Wilson's name there mainly for marketing purposes, or is this joint effort a true masterpiece?

  • SoundToys MicroShift Review
    review

    SoundToys MicroShift Review - Depth of Voice

    04/07/14

    Almost a year after releasing the free Little MicroShift, SoundToys has finally introduced its bigger sibling, a plug-in designed to add space and depth to a wide variety of sources. MicroShift is also the first SoundToys plug-in that offers authorization options beyond iLok.

  • Ashdown Pibass -240 and Mi 12 Speaker Review
    review

    Ashdown Pibass -240 and Mi 12 Speaker Review - π = 240 Watts

    04/03/14

    Ashdown Engineering's PiBass head is the signature model of Polish bass legend Wojtek Pilichowski. I tested it along with the Mi12, a cabinet featuring a 12" speaker. The two products combine to make a 240-watt stack that costs under $900, and has a total weight of under 42 lbs, so it's not hard to see why Audiofanzine pushed me to do this review.

  • Yamaha MOXF6 Review
    review

    Yamaha MOXF6 Review - Changing of the Guard

    04/01/14

    Incorporating most of the sound engine of the Motif XF, the MOXF aims to redefine the standard of mid-range workstations. A sound change?

  • Palmer Kaputt Review
    review

    Palmer Kaputt Review - Kaputt

    03/30/14

    With our recent review of the Mutterstolz tube distortion in mind, the Audiofanzine editorial board decided to review some of the other models from Palmer's Root Effects collection. We've already posted our review of Automat, and here we'll focus on Kaputt.