• 3 participants
  • 0 follower
Tunesy

Tunesy

4 posts
New AFfiliate
First post
1 Posted on 10/25/2004 at 09:00:34
I'm a hobbyist and long time amateur musician using Cakewalk Home Studio on an HP Pavilion 7000 laptop, P4 2.66, 1g ram, 60g internal hd and 80g external hd. I'd like to get a better sound card, but I'm not very knowledgable on that topic. I'm guessing I probably need an external card? My needs will mainly be limited to the following:

1 -- Composing (in Finale) and playing back MIDI via soft synths/instruments, Garritan Personal Orchestra for classical fare (I have to check on compatability with Home Studio), but undecided on what product to use for pop/jazz oriented stuff yet.

2 -- Live recording of two instruments at a time, rarely three.

My main wish is to get the most realistic acoustic instrument sounds from MIDI files. I don't do much in the way of 'electronic' sounds. I'd like to keep it simple and have everything done with software with the exception of the external sound card, if possible. I have an email in to HP to see if I have any internal sound card options, but from posts in another forum I'm led to believe I don't. I can't even tell from their web site what my existing sound card is :) Can anyone suggest an external sound card that would be suitable in the, oh, say, $200 range? I'll spring for a higher price if there's a compelling reason. Thanks in advance for any advice.
manowar

manowar

161 posts
AFfinity Poster
2 Posted on 10/25/2004 at 10:54:13
I suggest you m-audio audiophile 24/96 usb or fbetter firewire.
Card has 4in 2 out or 2 in 4 out. (2 lines are programible). Card has midi in too and it cost around 200 Euro. For more go to http://www.m-audio.com/index.php?do=products.list&ID=mobileinterfaces
Tunesy

Tunesy

4 posts
New AFfiliate
3 Posted on 10/25/2004 at 14:23:06
I looked at the M-audio Audiophile earlier but didn't see an external version. I'll do another google. Thanks for the tip.
Chardo

Chardo

21 posts