or
Create an account

or

Thread Bits, Herz', Stereo Split, Mono, Broadcast Wave...?

• 5 replies
  • 3 participants
  • 0 follower
1 Bits, Herz', Stereo Split, Mono, Broadcast Wave...?
hi,
i'm using Cubase, and i'm pretty new to the recording buisness. I have learned myself everything I know about recording in Cubase, and I'm capable of doing regular recordings of guitars, vocals etc. But I feel that I've missed out on some very general stuff.

What is Bits? Something I can drag from 16 to 24, and then to 32 Float. What does this mean, and what does it do for my recording projects?
kHz: Same question for this one. I can change it, and I have a sense that by taking it higher the sound is supposed to get better:P, but what does it acctually do, and how important is this? Where is the ideal place to have it? I do 44.100kHz now, is this sufficiante?

Simple, Stereo, Mono. What is the actual difference?

Broadcast Wave, Wave, AIFF: Different file types, but what is the actual difference? Which is the best?

Thank you!
Bits are a measurement of how fine the audio is measured digitally. its a mathmatic name for how fine audio can sound. for instace, an audio file at 4bits will sound like those very old computer sounds, or the music coming out of supermario on an old gameboy. CD's are at 16bits, but the industry standard in recording is 24bits, in other words, very high quality.

kHZ is a measue of how many times a sound is sampled. the higher, the better, although 196khz is the highest i've ever heard of. CD's play at 44.1khz, but when recording, go as high as your soundcard will let your record for outstanding quality (some will argue that you can't hear the difference, but its generally accepted as worth it). dont record higher quality than your audio card can record, otherwise its pointless to have the larger files.