or
Create an account

or

Thread Just the Basic Facts Please

• 2 replies
  • 3 participants
  • 0 follower
1 Just the Basic Facts Please
Hi to all, I'm new here and this is a great forum, I hope soon I can contribute some useful insight to it. But for new I need come Info. I have been playing guitar for many years but it has always been Humbuckers through marshalls and not much else. Then one day I was turned onto the pod by Line6 and an Fostex 8 track digital recorder. I'm am so hooked but so behind in the technologies and terminology I'm afraid I'm not getting all I could out of these devices.
Sooo.... my questions are:

What is a line level device/signal, is the PODxt a line level device?
Should I put the POD in the effects loop of my amp?

I am using a PODxt into a Crate Power Block amp, when recording no amp is used just POD to recorder input thru headphones.

Could somebody set me in the right direction :/
If you put the pod in the effects loop of your amp, you can use the amp to bypass it or not bypass it. Kind of useless if you have a foot controller for the Pod, but very useful if you don't.

i'm familiar w/ line level vs mic level. i havn't figured out the difference. It could mean line level as in not a high level device, which in the pod's case, is a yes.
Line level and mic level are two very different things. The impedence is different. A mic level signal is much weaker than a line level signal. Plug a mic level signal into a line level input, and you'l get a lot of noise and very little sound. Plug a line level signal into a mic level input, and you'll get a loud signal with distortion.