Create an account

or

Thread New to recording.. unable to mulitrack via midi

• 6 replies
  • 3 participants
  • 0 follower
1 New to recording.. unable to mulitrack via midi
Hi,
I am a pianist, new to recording software and sequencing.
Heres the skinny,

Yamaha S08
Cakewalk Pro 9
Midi via USB
I am runing audio out of my keyboard just to my amp, I dont have a sound card to my laptop

I can record a midi track, and play them back through my keyboard.
But I cannot get the set up to playback or record mulitple tracks or intruments.
Lets say I play a piano on track one, then strings on two, it only plays back whats on track one.
I input my instrument patch discription into the software track.
Also, what ever intrument is chosen on the keyboard LCD, thats what instrument the midi playback, it doesnt playback the actual patch/instrument I recorded with.
My goal,
I am trying to lay mulitple tracks with different intruments on top of each other. And hear these through my keyboard.
i know the keyboard is capable of this as it has a demo mode and plays gobs of instruments all at once.
I know the keyboard does not have on board sequencing, but it can be done via a SmartMedia card or hopefully, via midi.

Thanks in advance for any help
-Dez
You need to find or create a Cakewalk Instrument Definition for your keyboard. You need to make sure that Cakewalk is transmitting the patch info to your keyboard when you load a project. You need to make sure you have "local mode" turned off on the keyboard.

You also need to make sure you have your keyboard set to recieve on multiple midi channels.
The Axeman (##(===> Cuts From My New Blues CD
Thanks Axeman for the Reply,
"Cakewalk definition", I take it this is not the same as when Cakewalk displays all my patches that are in the keyboard when I choose "instrument" in Cakewalk?

"Local mode" turned off in the keyboard, and "recieve on muliple channels" ,