Create an account

or

Thread Please help! QS8 & Cubase SE not working together:(

• 5 replies
  • 2 participants
  • 0 follower
1 Please help! QS8 & Cubase SE not working together:(
PRELIMINARY INFO:

a. What kind of music do you want to do?
I am a pianist. I want to record instrumental songs as well as ones with lyrics. I want to be able to record songs using my sequencing software (Cubase SE) and put them on CD to bring to a professional studio in which we can alter the sounds, add vocals etc.

b. Do you want to record individual tracks at a time or a whole band at once?
Individual tracks at a time.

c. What do you want to do with your recordings? Demos? Fun for friends? Get gigs? Make a million and get a record deal?
Demos, fun, maybe get gigs...

d. What kind of instruments will you be recording? Live drums? Vocals?
In my own simple set up, I will just be using my Alesis QS8 keyboard.

e. What kind of computer do you have (or want)? Desktop? Laptop? Include: Operating System, Processor speed, RAM, Hard Drive Space, Sound Card type. USB? Firewire? CD Burner?
The computer is a desktop PC, running XP Pro, Athlon 2100+, 1.74 GHZ, 240MB RAM, has a CD burner, has USB ports, Realtek AC'97 Audio for VIA (I think that's the soundcard).

THE PROBLEM:
I'm very new to this whole recording thing. I have a very simple hook up. I have a computer running smoothly with Cubase SE. I have an Alesis QS8 keyboard. I have the QS8 hooked up to the comp with a MIDI Y cable connected to the comp's game port. One side of the cable has MIDI IN + OUT, the other side connects to the comp's game port.