or
Create an account

or

Thread MIDI: The Most Basic Newbie Questions Possible

• 1 comment
  • 2 participants
  • 0 follower
1 MIDI: The Most Basic Newbie Questions Possible
I’m only posting this because someone here once said the only stupid question is the one you don’t ask.

I’m a mainly acoustic musician. I’m intrigued by the idea of laying down a synthesized bass track in my recordings with a keyboard, as well as playing around with adding other instruments and sounds too.

My computer audio setup: P4 at 3.0+ GHz, w/HT technology; Sonar 3 studio; Aardvark Direct Pro LX6 audio interface; Tapco active monitors; Behringer UB 1202 mixer. Because the LX6 doesn’t have onboard synths, I play midi files through my SB Audigy 2 card and send that signal through the LX6.

I’ve scanned through a few books and web sites, but I can’t get a clear explanation of what I need to have in order to get into midi and music synthesizing.

I know I need a MIDI interface, and my LX6 sound card has a MIDI in and out. So that’s covered.

I know I need a MIDI controller, but is that something that is usually part of a standard MIDI keyboard? Or are controllers part of a software program like Sonar?

I know I need a keyboard, but what kind exactly? Do I need a synthesizer per se, or do I simply need a keyboard that can control software on my computer, and the synthesizer is actually software?

Put another way: If I went out and bought an entry-level MIDI keyboard/controller, would I be able to plug it into my LX6 sound card and use it to control MIDI synthesized instruments through a program like Sonar? Would I actually be able to program synthesized sounds through Sonar in this way, or would I need another program to make this music come out of my speakers?

And by the way, if you can recommend a specific keyboard that would do for my purposes, please do.