or

Thread It's time to ask for help

• 14 replies
  • 4 participants
  • 0 follower
1 It's time to ask for help
Hey there,
New to this site.
I have been playing my Axe for over 12 years but started recording back in 2000.
I thought my stuff rocked until I listened to everyone elses stuff and noticed how CLEAR and clean and professinal it sounds.
I am using my top spec PC and recording all of my tracks from my guitar and processer into my PC. There I am using either Acid or cool edit pro for the mixing. I have no problems recording and arrainging.
My problem is that my stuff sounds like it's comming from a basement.
It's hard to explain. you can hear some of it at https://www.nowhereradio.com/artists/album.php?aid=4229&alid=1163

And no! I am not trying to just give a cheap plug for my music!

Can some one listen to it and tell me what I am doing wrong? A freind mentioned the word "ailesing" (Spelling) What is it and does my "music" have it?

Thanks

Wes
Show first post
If you'll record guitar and use digital processor (trash) I recommentd to try steinberg warp.
Ok,
So I learned that I should not record the output of my processor from my sound card.
And that I should Mic my amp instead.
Thats great because I have a Crate amp and I LOVE the tight metal sound that it has!
My next step needs to be a Mic. You guys suggest a condenser mic. Excuse my lack of knowledge but what is a condenser mic verses a regular mic? And is it more sensitive than conventional mics? And that leads me to the next ???? What are U guys using for sound rooms?
I recently moved from my dream home with a quitet basement to a nightmare rental (stupid job!!!) that is all echoey and if I was to record using a sensitive mic all of my "music" would have Sponge Bob Square pants in the background from when my daughter is watching TV.
What do you guys do?

Thanks

WN
Well, not to rub it in, I use a closet in my basement studio. :lol: