or

Thread It's time to ask for help

• 14 replies
  • 4 participants
  • 0 follower
1 It's time to ask for help
Hey there,
New to this site.
I have been playing my Axe for over 12 years but started recording back in 2000.
I thought my stuff rocked until I listened to everyone elses stuff and noticed how CLEAR and clean and professinal it sounds.
I am using my top spec PC and recording all of my tracks from my guitar and processer into my PC. There I am using either Acid or cool edit pro for the mixing. I have no problems recording and arrainging.
My problem is that my stuff sounds like it's comming from a basement.
It's hard to explain. you can hear some of it at https://www.nowhereradio.com/artists/album.php?aid=4229&alid=1163

And no! I am not trying to just give a cheap plug for my music!

Can some one listen to it and tell me what I am doing wrong? A freind mentioned the word "ailesing" (Spelling) What is it and does my "music" have it?

Thanks

Wes
Wes-

I listenend to several of your tunes, and, while I hear what you are talking about, I'm not sure what the problems are. Overall, there is no bass. The drum tracks don't mesh with the rest of the tracks soundwise.

How are you recording? What gear are you using? What are you monitoring your mixes on?
The Axeman (##(===> Cuts From My New Blues CD
Thanks Axe.
How am I recording? I have my Guitar Processor's output going into the PC's Line in.
I am using Acid for my drum tracks and I will just use a simple beat to keep time when I record my first rythum track. Then I will later go back and add fillins and such.
Lateley what I have been doing is I will Do the above but export the drum track into Cool edit pro and lay down the rest of my tracks on that. I found that when I record into Acid I has a kind of Wavey sound.

As far as gear I am using my trusty ole Yamaha 6 string, DOD processer and my super PC with a SB Live soudcard.