Create an account

or

Thread Flexible home-recording set-up for rehearsal and recording

• 2 replies
  • 2 participants
  • 2 followers
1 Flexible home-recording set-up for rehearsal and recording
Hello,

I want to set up a system that can be used for both rehearsals of the bands I work with and also recording and mixing multiple tracks. I want the system to be as simple as possible and avoid excess gear or connections. The band contains electronic drums, a fiddle, a bass, a singer and harmony singer (I think I need a minimum of six inputs, if I include 1 extra). I am new to computer software for recording but a quick learner. I have a PC with Windows XP professional and plenty of RAM and an external hard drive. I would like to be able to do quiet rehearsals with everyone on headphones if it's not too expensive to add. From my reading, I am currently looking at the following set up options:

option 1Roland TDS-V drums
two shure sm58 vocal microphones
one shure condenser microphone for the fiddle or acoustic instruments
rockit monitor speaker(s)or similar powered small speakers
m-audio or other audio interface with at least 6 inputs
headphone amp
headphones
pre sonar or cubase recording software

option 2roland v drums
2 vocal microphones
1 instrument microphone
USB mixer with 6 to 8 inputs
monitor speaker (s)
headphone amp and headphones
recording software

plus cables for above

Can anyone tell me 1) if I am leaving any parts out and 2) if there is a simpler set up I could use for my needs. I don't need a finished album quality of recording but I would like to make good demos where I can manipulate individual tracks at some stage of the process.

Thanks for the help.

Jrr123