or
Create an account

or

Thread Can anyone recommend an easy software program?

• 4 replies
  • 5 participants
  • 0 follower
1 Can anyone recommend an easy software program?
I'm new to computer-based recording but I'd like to find some software that's fast and easy to record with. I'm not looking to make a perfect-sounding CD, but rather get ideas down.

I play guitar, bass, and sing...so in a perfect world, I'd like software that has a lot of drum loops already installed so I can start up a beat and then create my songs. I'd also like a lot of preset effects already built in for vocals and instruments so I can easily try out different sounds. I really don't want to have to create my own effects every time I do something.

I'm a Mac person, and while I've seen Logic Express and Pro Tools, I simply don't want anything that's too overwhealming or else I know I'll get scared off. Who knows, maybe Garageband is for me?

If you have any suggestions I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks- :?:
ive heard garbageband is good.

maybe pro tools free? it runs 8 tracks. very simple and easy to function.

Quote: ive heard garbageband is good.

maybe pro tools free? it runs 8 tracks. very simple and easy to function.

Garageband is quite good and I've heard that it comes free with every new Mac purchase, including the Mini. They also come with a couple of gigs worth of loops although I don't know if that still applies now. With the new Apple/Intel partnership, are we going to see Garageband for PC? Let's wait and see...

Yes, Protools Free is limited to 8 tracks, but it runs only on Mac OS 9 or Windows 98SE/ME; it will not run on newer OS like OSX or WinXP/2000. Plus, PT Free only supports RTAS plugs that were developed for it. VST fx? No way. DX fx? Nada. So be forewarned.

Hth,