or
Create an account

or

Thread best sequencer : cakewalk, cubase or Logic ?

• 13 replies
  • 14 participants
  • 0 follower
1 best sequencer : cakewalk, cubase or Logic ?
Hi,

I've been using cakewalk for several years and I'm pretty satisfyed.
With the new version (sonar 3) It has become compatible with VST instruments). But I found that Cubase is still better for audio.

I head that cabase SX 2 version has arrived during the last months. I also heard that the new version is rather instable ?

Has anybody tested the new features, compared it with Cakewalk Sonar 3 ?

What about the last logic versions ?
Show first post
I used Cakewalk for years because it came free with a sound card, and I upgraded along the way. It's easy to use. I didn't like the scoring utility much, especially compared to Passport, but it wasn't hard to learn. So, all in all, I was happy with Cakewalk.

Then Reason came along. I had to have Reason in my sequencing mix. It works with Cakewalk, but has many issues. In Cubase, it works a lot more smoothly, and functions like any other soft synth.

The one thing that made me switch from Cakewalk to Cubase:
Open Cakewalk. Add Reason as a synth. Set up a sound in Reason. Go back to Cakewalk. Set up a midi track and attach it to Reason. Now press a key on your midi keyboard. Notice a problem? No sound. Hit play or record - now you can hear it. Annoying.

I want to be able to do some test jamming with Reason sounds before I hit the record button. Cakewalk wouldn't let me do it, but Cubase would. So, I switched. I'm glad I did because I like Cubase's mixing and piano roll abilities more - much more fine grain control. I didn't know what I was missing.