or
Create an account

or

Thread best sequencer : cakewalk, cubase or Logic ?

• 13 replies
  • 14 participants
  • 0 follower
1 best sequencer : cakewalk, cubase or Logic ?
Hi,

I've been using cakewalk for several years and I'm pretty satisfyed.
With the new version (sonar 3) It has become compatible with VST instruments). But I found that Cubase is still better for audio.

I head that cabase SX 2 version has arrived during the last months. I also heard that the new version is rather instable ?

Has anybody tested the new features, compared it with Cakewalk Sonar 3 ?

What about the last logic versions ?
Hello Ben,

I've been using sonar from the cakewalk 3, and the fisrt time I used a Steinberg software was on a 520 ST and it was called Pro 24 ;-)

So I think that sonar is definitivly more intuitive for muscian, and that Cubase is realy more dedicated for the mix.

Concerning Logic and Pro Tools, I would say they are part of the previous generation :?

In europe Cubase is certainly the best seller, but in US/canada, Cakewalk is realy a step behind.
I personally think that most multitrack/sequencer softwares offer the same features. Therefore I do not think that one particular software is better than the others.

What definitely makes the difference is the know how and the habits you acquire when using a particular software. What I would recommend is to find the software you're the most comfortable with and stick with it. What will make it better than the others is the ability you'll develop to use all its features at their best.
I agree with Gawain on finding what makes you comfortable and then sticking with it. However...I had used a friend's Cubase for a couple of years here while we were making demos in Saudi, and I got very comfortable with it. When it came time to buy, however, it was another story. I wanted the best thing for my applications as a singer-songwriter playing acoustic guitar.

Hence, audio. Not so much midi.