Become a member
Become a member

or
Log in
Log in

or
Add this product to
  • My former gear
  • My current gear
  • My wishlist
Boss SP-505 Groove Sampling Workstation
Images
1/223

All user reviews for the Boss SP-505 Groove Sampling Workstation

Sampler from Boss belonging to the SP series

Price engine
Classified Ads
Forums
Filter
Keywords
Average Score:
( 4.2/5 based on 18 reviews )
6 reviews
33 %
10 reviews
56 %
1 review
6 %
Write a user review
Users reviews
  • FP UserFP User

    Boss SP-505 Groove Sampling WorkstationPublished on 11/09/08 at 15:00
    IT IS A GOOD SAMPLING WORKSTATION FOR THE PRICE OF 500 BUCKS

    Price paid

    $500

    UTILIZATION

    Good

    SOUNDS

    THE SOUND QUALITY IS GOOD. 44.1KHZ

    OVERALL OPINION

    I LIKE IT, IF YOU HAVE THE SKILLS TO GET THE MOST OF OF IT, IT CAN REALY WORK FOR YOU. IT'S NOT WHAT YOU HAVE IT'S WHAT YOU DO WITH IT.

    Originally posted on FutureProducers.com
    Posted by: Unknown (January 1-, 2003)
  • FP UserFP User

    Boss SP-505 Groove Sampling WorkstationPublished on 11/09/08 at 15:00
    The capabilities of this unit are awesome! For the sampling musician, I'd consider this a baby MPC2000. The chop function for dividing and truncating samples will take a lot of headaches out of creating for the sampleheads out there.

    Price paid

    $499

    UTILIZATION

    Very user friendly machine. With very little knowledge, a person could be up and sampling in no time. But you will be farming in your own sounds pretty quickly, cause the onboard sounds are weak.

    Looks kinda delicate, I wouldn't take this thing too far from home.

    SOUNDS

    The sounds out the box are kinda cheesy. With Roland's diverse library of sounds, I expected a better soundset. Where's the XV sounds? Very weak.…
    Read more
    The capabilities of this unit are awesome! For the sampling musician, I'd consider this a baby MPC2000. The chop function for dividing and truncating samples will take a lot of headaches out of creating for the sampleheads out there.

    Price paid

    $499

    UTILIZATION

    Very user friendly machine. With very little knowledge, a person could be up and sampling in no time. But you will be farming in your own sounds pretty quickly, cause the onboard sounds are weak.

    Looks kinda delicate, I wouldn't take this thing too far from home.

    SOUNDS

    The sounds out the box are kinda cheesy. With Roland's diverse library of sounds, I expected a better soundset. Where's the XV sounds? Very weak...

    OVERALL OPINION

    Returned it within a few days for an EMU MP7, so I guess you could say the marrige was annulled... :-(

    Originally posted on FutureProducers.com
    Posted by: Unknown ( 3-, 2004)
    See less
  • FP UserFP User

    Boss SP-505 Groove Sampling WorkstationPublished on 11/09/08 at 15:00
    It's not an MC-909, but it does work pretty good.

    Price paid

    $350

    UTILIZATION

    Very Easy to insert and delete samples. Creating beats is real cool too, just like my MP-7 E-mu MOPhatt...

    It's plastic, so what more do you expect. The buttons are nice.

    SOUNDS

    Sound Quality is good. Playback sounds warm to me.

    OVERALL OPINION

    For the $350 price I would buy it again if I need too.

    Originally posted on FutureProducers.com
    Posted by: dj_hamzter ( 5-, 2004)
    Read more
    It's not an MC-909, but it does work pretty good.

    Price paid

    $350

    UTILIZATION

    Very Easy to insert and delete samples. Creating beats is real cool too, just like my MP-7 E-mu MOPhatt...

    It's plastic, so what more do you expect. The buttons are nice.

    SOUNDS

    Sound Quality is good. Playback sounds warm to me.

    OVERALL OPINION

    For the $350 price I would buy it again if I need too.

    Originally posted on FutureProducers.com
    Posted by: dj_hamzter ( 5-, 2004)
    See less
  • FP UserFP User

    Boss SP-505 Groove Sampling WorkstationPublished on 11/09/08 at 15:00
    Chop function is wicket... hear it's better than on some other higher level machines.. but whish it had velocity pads, but not a big deal.. great sampler for beginer..

    Price paid

    250 USD ebay

    UTILIZATION

    Read-and-follow the manual and you won't stumble and if so ask on FP.. very user friendly..

    it looks kinda cheap or even funny, but who cares? it's never gonna leave my desk..

    SOUNDS

    The sound quality is great..you can change the bit rate from CD quality to rugged 1930's vinyl quality..

    OVERALL OPINION

    Best investment in years.. spend so much time with softwares and other stuff, 505 is the bomb!

    Originally posted on FutureProducers.com
    Posted by: Sto ( 1-, 200…
    Read more
    Chop function is wicket... hear it's better than on some other higher level machines.. but whish it had velocity pads, but not a big deal.. great sampler for beginer..

    Price paid

    250 USD ebay

    UTILIZATION

    Read-and-follow the manual and you won't stumble and if so ask on FP.. very user friendly..

    it looks kinda cheap or even funny, but who cares? it's never gonna leave my desk..

    SOUNDS

    The sound quality is great..you can change the bit rate from CD quality to rugged 1930's vinyl quality..

    OVERALL OPINION

    Best investment in years.. spend so much time with softwares and other stuff, 505 is the bomb!

    Originally posted on FutureProducers.com
    Posted by: Sto ( 1-, 2005)
    See less
  • FP UserFP User

    Boss SP-505 Groove Sampling WorkstationPublished on 11/09/08 at 15:00
    Very heavy on effects. time-stretching and bpm adjusting can make samples sound choppy, but there's a way to work around that. i recommend reading your manual and asking questions on fp to learn how to really manipulate this machine.

    Price paid

    $400

    UTILIZATION

    Bright lcd screen, easy-to-navigate menus, buttons creatively placed, trigger pads light up to let you know what sample's been armed and triggered. wish it was compatible with larger cards than 128mb smartmedia, though.

    tight little piece. constructed very well. wish it was battery-operated for better portability.

    SOUNDS

    The sound quality is the truth! it can do crispy, cd-quality and raspy, dirty quality reminis…
    Read more
    Very heavy on effects. time-stretching and bpm adjusting can make samples sound choppy, but there's a way to work around that. i recommend reading your manual and asking questions on fp to learn how to really manipulate this machine.

    Price paid

    $400

    UTILIZATION

    Bright lcd screen, easy-to-navigate menus, buttons creatively placed, trigger pads light up to let you know what sample's been armed and triggered. wish it was compatible with larger cards than 128mb smartmedia, though.

    tight little piece. constructed very well. wish it was battery-operated for better portability.

    SOUNDS

    The sound quality is the truth! it can do crispy, cd-quality and raspy, dirty quality reminiscent of the sp1200

    OVERALL OPINION

    I've always been in love with the emu sp1200 because of its classic feel and ill effects, even if it isn't the absolute best sampler out there. to me, the boss sp-505 ranks up there with the sp1200. in some ways it's superior to that classic sampler.

    Originally posted on FutureProducers.com
    Posted by: realEYEZ ( 7-, 2005)
    See less
  • FP UserFP User

    Boss SP-505 Groove Sampling WorkstationPublished on 11/09/08 at 15:00
    Timestretch, USB port would be nice like the 606, and better BPM adjust,but other than that nothing.

    Price paid

    300.00

    UTILIZATION

    Piece of cake.

    No repairs, good sampler but keep this badboy at home. Alot of plastic

    SOUNDS

    Perfect! Whatever it samples in, it plays out.

    OVERALL OPINION

    Perfect for me i like having limitations. I work better that way.

    Originally posted on FutureProducers.com
    Posted by: JunkOne ( 7-, 2005)
  • FP UserFP User

    Boss SP-505 Groove Sampling WorkstationPublished on 11/09/08 at 15:00
    Many Features,Plenty of effects, sampling from optical, coaxial, mic, and SPDIF. Plenty of sample time on the smart media card, although almost none in onboard memory. One thing i don't like is theres only 8 polyphony

    Price paid

    $300

    UTILIZATION

    Its Pretty easy to use, as it only took about 2 or 3 days of not even looking at the manual to figure it out. If you have ever used any sampler/sequencer you should be able to figure this out.

    I've dropped mine on concrete with no flaws, except a few scratches, so i'd say pretty durable.

    SOUNDS

    Good quality all together, but as i get better at produciong its starting to get limiting. I'd always go for an MPC1000 or even a 3000 o…
    Read more
    Many Features,Plenty of effects, sampling from optical, coaxial, mic, and SPDIF. Plenty of sample time on the smart media card, although almost none in onboard memory. One thing i don't like is theres only 8 polyphony

    Price paid

    $300

    UTILIZATION

    Its Pretty easy to use, as it only took about 2 or 3 days of not even looking at the manual to figure it out. If you have ever used any sampler/sequencer you should be able to figure this out.

    I've dropped mine on concrete with no flaws, except a few scratches, so i'd say pretty durable.

    SOUNDS

    Good quality all together, but as i get better at produciong its starting to get limiting. I'd always go for an MPC1000 or even a 3000 or 60 although they are older. Theres only 8 polyphony, which gets annoying when you go for more complex beats. Theres only 16 internal banks, which i filled up with all of my drum sounds, and if you add the 128 MB smart media card it add another 16 banks.

    OVERALL OPINION

    Good for beginers but like i said nuthing like an MPC1000, 2000, 2000XL, 4000. And if you want that vintage sound i'd always go with an MPC3000, or 60.

    Originally posted on FutureProducers.com
    Posted by: MMProductions ( 9-, 2005)
    See less
  • FP UserFP User

    Boss SP-505 Groove Sampling WorkstationPublished on 11/09/08 at 15:00
    The best thing about the sp-505 are the effects, with more than 20 effects including: delay, wah, pitch shift, voice transformer,equaliser and my alltime favorite the isolator its makes thin sound fat and fat sounds thin. The sequencing on the SP-505 is pretty limited, you sequence samples in patterns on 4 channels and sequence those to make a song. I don't use the song mode myself. I just make the whole track in one pattern and let it play in a loop and mute the 4 channel parts. There is a 8 voice polyphony with mono samples and 4 voices with stereo samples. It has a 4 mb internal memory and a smart media card slot to save sounds and sequenceses on. It has only a 2 stereo jack output.

    Pri…
    Read more
    The best thing about the sp-505 are the effects, with more than 20 effects including: delay, wah, pitch shift, voice transformer,equaliser and my alltime favorite the isolator its makes thin sound fat and fat sounds thin. The sequencing on the SP-505 is pretty limited, you sequence samples in patterns on 4 channels and sequence those to make a song. I don't use the song mode myself. I just make the whole track in one pattern and let it play in a loop and mute the 4 channel parts. There is a 8 voice polyphony with mono samples and 4 voices with stereo samples. It has a 4 mb internal memory and a smart media card slot to save sounds and sequenceses on. It has only a 2 stereo jack output.

    Price paid

    750 euro

    UTILIZATION

    Very easy to use. I was building tracks on the SP-505 the same day I got it.

    I've got it for 3 years now, never it has let me down, it never crashed. The 16 pads and buttons are solid, the knobs are well made.

    SOUNDS

    Good sound quality, 44.1 kHz sampling (mono or stereo). Good sounding effects.

    OVERALL OPINION

    It's a nice mashine if you want to create right away it's easy to use. But if you want to sequence more than 4 channels. You should get an MPC.

    Originally posted on FutureProducers.com
    Posted by: alphawolf (January 0-, 2005)
    See less
cookies
We are using cookies!

Yes, Audiofanzine is using cookies. Since the last thing that we want is disturbing your diet with too much fat or too much sugar, you'll be glad to learn that we made them ourselves with fresh, organic and fair ingredients, and with a perfect nutritional balance. What this means is that the data we store in them is used to enhance your use of our website as well as improve your user experience on our pages and show you personalised ads (learn more). To configure your cookie preferences, click here.

We did not wait for a law to make us respect our members and visitors' privacy. The cookies that we use are only meant to improve your experience on our website.

Our cookies
Cookies not subject to consent
These are cookies that guarantee the proper functioning of Audiofanzine and allow its optimization. The website cannot function properly without these cookies. Example: cookies that help you stay logged in from page to page or that help customizing your usage of the website (dark mode or filters).
Google Analytics
We are using Google Analytics in order to better understand the use that our visitors make of our website in an attempt to improve it.
Advertising
This information allows us to show you personalized advertisements thanks to which Audiofanzine is financed. By unchecking this box you will still have advertisements but they may be less interesting :) We are using Google Ad Manager to display part of our ads, or tools integrated to our own CMS for the rest. We are likely to display advertisements from our own platform, from Google Advertising Products or from Adform.

We did not wait for a law to make us respect our members and visitors' privacy. The cookies that we use are only meant to improve your experience on our website.

Our cookies
Cookies not subject to consent

These are cookies that guarantee the proper functioning of Audiofanzine. The website cannot function properly without these cookies. Examples: cookies that help you stay logged in from page to page or that help customizing your usage of the website (dark mode or filters).

Google Analytics

We are using Google Analytics in order to better understand the use that our visitors make of our website in an attempt to improve it. When this parameter is activated, no personal information is sent to Google and the IP addresses are anonymized.

Advertising

This information allows us to show you personalized advertisements thanks to which Audiofanzine is financed. By unchecking this box you will still have advertisements but they may be less interesting :) We are using Google Ad Manager to display part of our ads, or tools integrated to our own CMS for the rest. We are likely to display advertisements from our own platform, from Google Advertising Products or from Adform.


You can find more details on data protection in our privacy policy.
You can also find information about how Google uses personal data by following this link.