or
Create an account

or

Thread Stupid Question about mixers

• 7 replies
  • 3 participants
  • 0 follower
1 Stupid Question about mixers
Sorry if this is common knowledge, and it's probably the dumbest question I'll ask on here (Knock on wood!). Forgive me, I'm working backwards, I'm a Pro-tools junky.

So I want to be able to record 16 tracks simultaneously if possible.

I buy a ripping computer and two Phase 88's. My computer now has 16 inputs.

Hopefully we're good to go so far......

So now I need a board. Let's say for example a Mackie 8 bus or a Behringer 8 bus or 4 bus or whatever. I only ever see tape assigns for these things up to the number of busses. Sorry if I'm not explaining this good enough, but let's say I want to record 9 things this time.

Tracks 1-9 each have an input. Do they have separate track outputs that run to the computer, or just 8 outputs (1 for each bus). If it's the later, then 2 tracks would have to be on the same bus, therefore 2 inputs would be on the same track on the computer. Right?

I'm probably all switched around here, but it's got to be a little simplier than this. If not, how the heck are you supposed to record more than 8 tracks at once??? I mean that's just a good drum setup???

Justin
You want a board with 16 channels that has direct outs on each channel strip. Usually this comes in the form of having an insert on each channel. This is a tip/ring/sleeve jack that would normally go to a y cord (1 TRS connection on one end, 2 single 1/4 plugs on the other). This is normally used for putting outboard effects processors directly on the channel. BUT- if you use a regular single 1/4" cable, and you only put it inot the jack halfway to the first click, you pick the signal off the channel without interrupting the path to the rest of the mixer.