• 8 participants
  • 8 followers
born2bealive

born2bealive

2 posts
New AFfiliate
First post
1 Posted on 10/10/2014 at 07:41:27
I'm still very new to recording vocals on my own. What effects should I use to be able to get a vocal tone like MGMT in "kids", or more specifically, Starfucker's "Rawnald Gregory Erickson the Second"? (see video)

EQlikeaboss

EQlikeaboss

30 posts
New AFfiliate
2 Posted on 10/10/2014 at 07:56:30
Heavy compression with multiple layers, plenty of reverb, and a buttload of delay
born2bealive

born2bealive

2 posts
New AFfiliate
3 Posted on 10/13/2014 at 02:21:25
So for a beginner like myself, I'm assuming the order matters. Would the following look right?

• Record multiple tracks (not duplicates)
  • Apply extreme compression (How much? Any additional advice here?)
  • Apply delay
  • Apply reverb

Is that right? In addition to obvious harmonies
dirtyAC30

dirtyAC30

16 posts
New AFfiliate
4 Posted on 10/13/2014 at 06:04:07
That's more the story with MGMT in "Kids", but for that STRFCKR example, it sounds like it's quad tracked. Compressor seems to be removing the transients. The vocals are actually quite dry in this example (at least regarding reverb and delay).

I would venture a guess and say there's a short convolution, along with potentially a low speed tape saturation to give a natural reduction in the highs without cutting them. Anything else I might simply attribute to the singer's singing style
walterwhitey

walterwhitey

4 posts
New AFfiliate
5 Posted on 10/13/2014 at 13:51:27
It sounds like both examples have a lot of frequencies looped off (either by EQ or tape). To get a similar sound I would low pass all the way up to 500 and high pass as low as, i dunno, 5k. It should get you the nostalgic/speakerbox effect you're after if you wanna give it a try
j.jones78

j.jones78

10 posts
New AFfiliate
6 Posted on 10/14/2014 at 01:36:27