or
Create an account

or

Thread mastering?

• 6 replies
  • 5 participants
  • 0 follower
1 mastering?
Hello all, I'm new to this board(as u can tell from my number of posts). I've been making tracks for a few years now and I was wondering what goes in to mastering a track. I'm using fl studio PE. My songs almost sound too crisp or clear and I can tell the difference between any mastered track and mine. So if anyone can help it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance
To ask "What goes into mastering a track" gives the hint that you may need to backup. This is my opinion and others may agree, but mastering isn't a requirement for getting a great sounding finished product. If your tracks dont already sound great then you need to go over every track again and work on that. It's difficult to answer this post because of the lack of information and I have no idea what you have done. In most cases listening to a posted mp3 is a good indication of a person's capabilities.
for instance, when i mix from one of my songs to a regular song, i can tell the difference in sound and they never blend right.. here's a remix i did a few months ago, listen to it and let me know what is need to make it sound more.....fuller???

http://download.yousendit.com/059E232E7F0EC2B3
Joey, unfortunately I wasn't able to hear you MP3 because of that site. But from what you say there may be a few suggestions which can help "meld" your music to sound more cohesive as a mix.
First, how are you panning your various tracks? Seperating parts provides sonic "room" for competing frequencies and gives a more spacial feel to music.
Are you eq'ing your individual tracks to get the sound you're seeking? You mentioned that your songs are "too crisp or clear" which may not be a problem at all depending on the style of musis or sound you are trying to achieve.