or
Create an account

or

Thread Hollow Sounding Voice Recordings

• 3 replies
  • 3 participants
  • 0 follower
1 Hollow Sounding Voice Recordings
I'm just beginning in the voice-over business and am trying to save myself studio expenses by setting up my own computer based home studio.

I'm using a Shure SM58 Mic (I know it's not the best option for this application, but $$$ is the issue right now, and I'm using mic modeling software to try out some different mic options that best suit my voice), plugging directly into an Audigy 2 Platinum sound card. For software I'm using Steinberg Nuendo 1.5.

I'm playing with different EQ and compressor settings, but no matter what I do, I just can't get that smooth production sound that I get when I pay for studio time (obviously something to be said for paying to let the real pros do it properly), the sound just comes out kind of hollow sounding. I've had some people tell me it's the mic, some people tell me it's the sound card and some people tell me that I need a preamp.

I'm leaning towards the preamp opinion, but there are so many options out there I really don't know where to begin. I don't think I need a mixer with built in preamp as I can alter all of those settings in Nuendo but I guess I really don't know what I need.

I've done a bit of research and have found 2 preamps that sound suited to my application: Behringer MIC100 and ART Tube MP Studio Microphone Preamp.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
Brian

PS.
If you know anybody looking for some new voice talent I'm willing to work for free to get some good demo material.
well a preamp would do something positive if youre recording into a soundcard, would make it sound more analog, and would give it some color and life...

check out the "really nice preamp" http://www.fmraudio.com/

its not too cheap, but its a good one...depending on your budget...check out one of those ART-tube channel preamps
I do voice-over work about 30-40% of my time.