Create an account

or

Thread Need help!!!! Buzzing sound

• 6 replies
  • 7 participants
  • 0 follower
Sujet de la discussion Need help!!!! Buzzing sound
Hi, I'm a newbie in recording stuff, so that's why I need some help,
'cause I don't know if my equipmet isn't right, I just don't know.

Well, I'm gonna describe the equipment I'm using:
PC intel Pentium 4
Ram: 1024mb
Sound Card: Sound Blaster Audigy Platinum EX

Guitar: Fender Squier
Cable: Planetwave
Distortion pedal: Marshall Jackhammer

The problem:
when I plug in the cable into the LINE IN 2/MIC 2 there
is buzzing sound, and when activate the pedal it amplifies
the buzzing sound, and there is some extra vibration.

If someone can help me to correct that anoying problem, I would apreciate it.
So I take it the buzz isn't there when you're not plugged into your sound card.
I know my guitarist in my band has a MArshall and it buzzes ALL the time. I dont think it has anything to do with your sound card. Just run a decent noise reduction to get rid of it.
If the buzz is just so rediculous that it's driving you up the wall try and adjust your amps gain or maybe even try a decent cord. Because Im using the same sound card and I havnt noticed anything like what you describing.

Later,

Bones.
Is it a ValveState? Had gobs of trouble with them in an old theater I worked in for a while.

Back to the original question:
Does the Jackhammer have a headphone jack? Is the noise there? Does switching pickups help? Can the volume control on the guitar change the buzz?
A couple of things-

The jack is labled Line In 2/ Mic in 2? which is it, line or mic? Those are 2 different impedence levels, and I can't imagine that your guitar would be happy with either/or.