or
Create an account

or

Thread How to properly mix vocals into music?

• 18 replies
  • 8 participants
  • 0 follower
1 How to properly mix vocals into music?
I've been singing for the past two years or so but I've always never knew how to properly mix vocals into just music. What I do normally is first record my vocals through mono instead of stereo, then add some reverb or other voice-enhancing effects, then just "mix" it into the music (karaoke/instrumental/etc) using my Sound Forge program. But I feel like I am missing something here... I use a regular crappy USB mic, but it's the best thing I can afford, but I think I may have to do some more type of audio-work before mixing it in, eh? What do you guys think? I don't know how to properly or "Truly" professional-quality mix....
Show first post
Thanks, ag!

Yeah, I've been to the site myself. Was just curious if this particular mic passed thru your hands. Well, I guess since it's a Blue product, it shouldn't be bad at all given BLue's reputation for boutique mics. I'm seriously considering either the Blue Ball or 8 Ball myself so having another candidate for the mic cabinet would be a nice option. I've a friend who's using a Blueberry in his PT HD studio and he's quite satisfied with it.

Cheers!

%1$s a écrit [quote=agaudio]Axeman,

Unfortunately, they do make USB mics...not good for the serious wannabe audiophiles!
Read it and weep:

https://www.samsontech.com/products/productpage.cfm?prodID=1810&brandID=2

agaudio,

I know about Samson's attempt. But what do you think about Blue's usb mic, the Snowball?

Best,[/quote]
I'm not sure about the Blue Snowballs, KitC. I haven't personally used them myself. I would just be concerned with how good their A/D converters are or if your computer processor is going to have to do the converting (The more RAM used for A/D processing, the slower your system for other applications).