or
Create an account

or

Thread How to properly mix vocals into music?

• 18 replies
  • 8 participants
  • 0 follower
1 How to properly mix vocals into music?
I've been singing for the past two years or so but I've always never knew how to properly mix vocals into just music. What I do normally is first record my vocals through mono instead of stereo, then add some reverb or other voice-enhancing effects, then just "mix" it into the music (karaoke/instrumental/etc) using my Sound Forge program. But I feel like I am missing something here... I use a regular crappy USB mic, but it's the best thing I can afford, but I think I may have to do some more type of audio-work before mixing it in, eh? What do you guys think? I don't know how to properly or "Truly" professional-quality mix....
Bro- there is only so much you can do with a mic that is not a decent mic. I've never even heard of a USB mic- you need to save some $$ for a basic mic- like a Shure SM-57 or SM-58 or something. I know $$ can be a bummer, but you do need to have some basic quality level,, and no amount of plug-ins or tricks will fix that.
The Axeman (##(===> Cuts From My New Blues CD
I am not talking about mic quality. I am talking about if I am mixing it correctly or rather than the techniques (recording in mono, add sfx, then mixing) if they are the proper way or can be improved in one way or another.
That is right way. Try some eq and reverb. Otherwise is your bad mic.

Try to get right sound with eq (equlizer) but I don't know if sound forege has the right thing.
Oh yeah.. I've always wondered....why is it better to record in mono then mix rather than record in stereo and mix it?
I couldn't imagine giving up the control that mixing offers. I can't think of a time when I haven't recorded a single mic to it's own single track. It's mono because there is only one mic. How are you going to make that stereo?