or
Create an account

or

Thread 2 Microphones, 1 Drum Set???

• 11 replies
  • 11 participants
  • 0 follower
1 2 Microphones, 1 Drum Set???
I have an sm57, and i'm looking to do some recording/producing/whateveryouwannacallit on my Powerbook/Ableton Live 3 setup via a M-Audio 410 Firewire Interface. I need to buy some more mics, but here is the catch, the 410 only has TWO INPUTS!!! So here is the question:

What mic should i buy to compliment the sm57 in sound recording?

Some things to think about: My drumset is decently loud, and i'll be playing general indie/rock beats with some pretty loud verses. Also, I'm a hard-up-for-cash student. ALSO, it'd be great if the mic could also record vocals and various other acoustic instruments.

I was thinking about either the Behringer B-2 or the Rode NT1A.
If you can only use two tracks I would suggest that you record with just a pair of microphones placed overhead. The thing is that you'll need two microphones of the same model. I have used some 57 as overheads. Of course you' get better results with condenser microphones but it still sounded decent.
Is there a definite reason I need a pair of the same mics?

Also, I was thinking of having the 57 placed above and in front of the set, while having a condenser placed overhead. Is this not practical?

Quote: Is there a definite reason I need a pair of the same mics?

Also, I was thinking of having the 57 placed above and in front of the set, while having a condenser placed overhead. Is this not practical?

Generaly, people place 2 mics as overhead to record the stereo pane of the kit. But you can choose to have only one overhead!

For the second mic... I suggset that you place it on the snare if you want more groovy sound. Or to put it on the kick if you like to have a more "rock" sound.