or
Create an account

or

Thread EQing vocals...

• 3 replies
  • 3 participants
  • 3 followers
1 EQing vocals...
When I started learning EQ not too long ago, I decided that, for me, the best way is to increase the Q and gain all the way and go through frequencies, noting the ranges that produce the most unpleasant sounds...

I've found this technique helped me as a newb, and have read about others using it, but I'm curious to see if it's a good idea for EQ or if some other approach should be pursued for vox tracks? If so, why?
For one thing, make sure you're not EQing them without the context of the rest of the tracks. As the author of our Mixing series pointed out in the the most recent installment (https://en.audiofanzine.com/recording-mixing/editorial/articles/the-eqing-primer.html), EQ decisions made only from listening in solo are usually not as good as those made with the other tracks also playing. Other than that, I don't see anything wrong with your method, as long as its working for you. Eventually, you'll get to the point where you can pretty closely distinguish the particular frequencies are that you're hearing, and you'll be able to zero in on the unpleasant ones without having to go through as much listening as you're doing now. But it's certainly not unusual to boost at a particular frequency and then "sweep" it across the frequency band to zero in on a particular troublesome area.

Another thing you have to be very careful about with vocals, especially if you're boosting frequencies on them, is that you don't accentuate sibilance, which mainly occurs in the 4-10 kHz range. Of course, if your track is overly sibilant to start with, try using a de-esser on it.