or
Create an account

or

Thread Loudness from workflow

• 10 replies
  • 5 participants
  • 5 followers
1 Loudness from workflow
Hi everyone, I've been producing remixes for some time, but I'm a complete amateur in reality. Mostly I'm happy with my productions but I always seem to lack the loudness. Others seem to acheive beautiful clarity and peak volumes. Or perhaps it's in my head... either way, I think my issues are in work flow...

In a nutshell:
1) mix the track together with a little compression and EQ
2) bounce the each track to wav
3) limit the track on the master bus
4) heavier multi band compression on the master bus

My setup I consider to be poor, completely software driven with no dedicated sound card or hardware.

Please share your workflows, tricks and tips. Any defo wins/fails
Here is a my remix for reference if you need it
https://soundcloud.com/finishingmove-1/adam-lambert-another-lonely-night-finishingmove-remix
Thanks
Mix tracks together and glue them with a bit compression in one or several busses.
Mix to stereo with a compressor on the main bus. The limiter will be added as last effect module...

Do not place the limiter before master compression.

Do not push it to hard. Be shure to keep a few dB for mastering your tracks. ( -2 or -3 dB).

Render it to stereo...

In the mastering stage you can add some eq or light compression as stereo or as m/s.

With m/s in mastering you can control width by eq highs in S , solid mono by adding bass in M and make your final product and control it with 2 compressors.

With mastering in stereo you add eq to both tracks ( left / right) and use a stereo compressor for your final product

Remember that both methods have there pros and cons....

And if you need to add more then 3 dB eq while mastering you need to go back and mix your music again.

Note: keep in mind that there are more then one method. There are no rules only guidlines...