Add this product to
  • My former gear
  • My current gear
  • My wishlist
Focusrite Scarlett 18i20
Images
1/616
Focusrite Scarlett 18i20

USB audio interface from Focusrite belonging to the Scarlett 1st Generation series

Public price: $499 incl. VAT

Thread Routing Pre Set ...Daw Tracking

• 5 replies
  • 2 participants
  • 2 followers
1 Routing Pre Set ...Daw Tracking
I'm new to using Scarlet 18i20 .

I'm doing home recording of multi track synth with no other instruments.

Connection to PC is USB . Monitor amp runs from rear output 1-2

The Scarlet Mixer is quite complex ...I have it set on ......' Routing - Daw Tracking'...
for the router section . Is this the accepted method ?

Blue monitor buttons 1-2 activated and Mon 1 selected at top right hand corner.

I've checked You Tube posts for beginner start ups but am still quite confused.

Any help/tips very welcome.

Hi,

If you record your instrument and you like to hear what is recorded into the daw you have choosen the right routing settings.

Well the 18i20 is not that hard....
By setting the routing as daw the monitor output is set to daw one and two.

Daw one and two are basically the main outputs of the master fader.
So if you record multiple tracks and mix them through the stereo master fader the output is often set to daw one and 2.

Selecting the blue number blocks 1 and 2 selects / enables the outputs one and two.

You have done correctly...

So quick guidelines....

Blue number blocks :
Enabling all blue number blocks will enable all outputs on the back of the interface. It does not matter if you have them all activated... So you can select them all as standard.

Routing presets:

Zero latency tracking:
This uses the internal mixersoftwareof the 18i20. Above the fader you can choose your inputs. Say you use your keyboard out 1 2 3 and a mic to sing... If you setup 4 tracks it will be mixed to the right fader { 18i20 master}

You can make this mix audible by choosing that mix as monitor output...