Create an account

or

Thread Scarlett 2i2: Popping and device disconnecting

• 42 replies
  • 27 participants
  • 27 followers
1 Scarlett 2i2: Popping and device disconnecting
Hey,

This problem has been doing my head in for a year now and now that I work as a professional I just have to get this fixed:

System:

Windows 8.1 64bit,
Scarlett 2i2 (Drivers 3.1.10) with Behringer Truth monitors plugged

What happens is that I hear a loud pop from my speakers followed by my 1 & 2 input knob lights flashing. Also when this happens the device briefly disappears from my Windows audio devices menu for a short while. The problem is inconsistent and can happen 1-10 times in a minute, once in an hour or I can go a day without it happening.

Also 1 problem I'd appreciate if someone can answer: On Pro Tools 11 when I choose Scarlett to use ASIO4ALL drivers it crashes Pro Tools. What gives?

Cheers for any help!

EDIT: It's now clear that the Ethernet cable is the cause. However I don't know how to solve this

[ Post last edited on 01/28/2015 at 02:43:56 ]

Show first post
Hello

Recently purchased 2i2 gen2.
The computer and the card are always on.
After 5-30 hours, the sound starts popping.
This happens approximately for a period of 30 seconds, after which it is no longer possible to listen.
To fix it - take out and insert the cable from the card.

I tried the driver 4.15, beta 4.26.0.183.
I tried the USB 3, USB 2, external and embedded in the motherboard and USB 3 external with power supply.
Tried to change the USB cable.
No difference.

10 seconds example:
Crack.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B3gQUxLbCRBgTjdhSFhJMTZ2cUE/view?usp=sharing

The same normal record.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B3gQUxLbCRBgaG9qbC01TlNDUlU/view?usp=sharing

Hi Ilya,

this is a common problem with the newest driver. Talked mutliple time with the customer support.
Try the driver 3.2.2. for the Scarlett. These driver are from 2015 but it seems to fix this problem.
I'm using them too.