or
Create an account

or

Thread Scarlett Solo Heaphone TRS to XLR in another mixer, is this possible?

• 10 replies
  • 2 participants
  • 2 followers
1 Scarlett Solo Heaphone TRS to XLR in another mixer, is this possible?
I am using the scarlett solo for my at2020 condenser mic. I was wondering if I can use a TRS to XLR cable to get the mic audio from the scarlett solo monitor TRS plug to an XLR plug on a different mixer. I am very new to the audio world. Essentially I want to use the scarlett solo as a glorified phantom power supply since the other mixer does not provide phantom power, but I am also using the rca line out for something else so I need so I can't just use a power supply. I read some things about the headphone TRS being stereo and that would cause an issue since everything else is mono, but I didn't find a definitive answer. I am also open to other solutions, but it has to go from the scarlett solo to an xlr port. Thanks for your consideration.

Diagram of what I want to accomplish:

at2020 | XLR -----> XLR | Scarlett Solo | TRS -----> XLR | Mixer
If you not knowing or not sure about what you are going to do then DON'T

I will NEVER advice someone to use the headphone output for other things than a headphone
Some headphone drivers go wild and deliver more voltages than your line in can handle.
It can damage all connected equipment so buy a real phantom power unit or a small mic preamp with phantom power onboard.
Your equipment will thank you for that :)

!!! NOTE

The XLR on your 2nd mixer is a mic input ( millivolts ) if you feed the headphone signal into that it WILL BLOWUP!

- Angelie

It's not about what you got to use ....    but how you use what you got...

[ Post last edited on 11/05/2015 at 06:02:29 ]