or
Create an account

or

Thread Reply appreciated - advice for beginner

• 2 replies
  • 2 participants
  • 0 follower
Sujet de la discussion Reply appreciated - advice for beginner
Well, I'm not a true beginner - have dabbled with sound recording over many years, but now looking to invest in a better setup (have got the PC sorted - now the designated sound I/O device and software).

I'm looking at the M-Audio 1814 (so can record a live drum-kit down the track) and regarding software I'm keen on Adobe (Audition 3). What is the known compatability / problems / limitations between Adobe Audition and M-Audio devices?

(I know someone's going to suggest use ProTools instead - and I may consider that - but I have a budget to keep to and will get student price on Adobe).

~Luke :cool:
Hey Luke. I'm not going to suggest Pro Tools because guess what, it's really hard to use, really expensive to buy and only supports certain hardware.

Cool Edits makers Syntrillium were brought out by Adobe in or about 2003. They then re-released as Adobe Audition. When I went to Radio School, I was trained to use this program as my primary audio editor/ recorder etc and then we'd export it to SawPlus (multi-track editor) to mix down. Adobe Audition has all of Cool Edits features. It's really easy to use. Good effects. Shares Microsoft short cut keys and basically you can use it straight out of the box.

In terms of "known issues" I don't know of any. M-Audio is like Behringer. It started by making copies of products produced by well known companies like Tascam, Mackie and so forth. They were very good at it and started doing their own thing. M-Audio products are basically made to be used within all the major software programs.